Photo credit: www.pexels.com

Where My Interests Lie…and Where They Don’t

Trease Shine Hinton
2 min readDec 7, 2018

On November 5, 2018, God allowed me to open my eyes to my see my 51st birthday.

On April 5, 2018, I had officially been divorced five years.

From the late part of June 2013 until a few weeks ago, I dabbled in a relationship with a man I’ve known my whole life and I freely admit that for a while, I believed him to be my soulmate. Turns out, I can only describe him as one of the worst parts of my life, but that’s neither here nor there. The only reason he is even mentioned in this thing is because he is part of the reason I am so fixed on my interests as far as a relationship goes.

What I Don’t Want

Deception. Either tell the whole truth or shut up. What’s the sense in telling half-truths? What’s the real purpose of that crap? I have no interest in dealing with deceitful, selfish people. They’re stupid.

A Liar. I guess this could have been included with the aforementioned information, but somewhere out there is a person who will want to argue that there is a difference between a deceitful person and a liar. Both parties are asses so we’ll just let it stay there.

Already Boo’d Up Dudes. If you’re with someone else — married or you’ve made some other type of commitment to them, you’re boo’d up, plain and simple. Stop lying and saying…

--

--

Trease Shine Hinton

Domestic Violence Prevention Advocate | Adjunct English Instructor | Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Speaker | M.A., English and Creative Writing