Purple: of Royal

Trease Shine Hinton
2 min readOct 2, 2018

Yesterday, October 1, marked the beginning of Domestic Violence Awareness Month. You’re going to see the color purple everywhere over the next month. As a matter-of-fact, today is “Wear Purple” day. I’m wearing a purple t-shirt because the least I can do is be a visible beacon for the fight against domestic violence.

Royalty and All Its Goodness

By definition, the color purple represents royalty. It also represents meanings of wealth, creativity, wisdom, dignity, devotion, peace, pride, mystery, independence, and magic. It’s only fitting that it was chosen as the color for the organization that so boldly fights against the filth that is domestic violence.

I’m a living example that the things I mentioned above become part of your character once you escape an abusive situation. It takes a lot to finally leave sometimes so I suppose some of that strength is already rooted in the spirit, but when I tell you those things become a magnified, blinding spotlight following you everywhere you go once you get that wind beneath your wings, believe that.

All the Gains

It’s hard to even imagine, but once you make it over that wall of hell, you’re in for some goodness. I know what I’m talking about. My divorce was final in 2013 and to be honest, there have been times I’ve struggled. What I’ve never struggled with, though, is…

--

--

Trease Shine Hinton

Domestic Violence Prevention Advocate | Adjunct English Instructor | Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Speaker | M.A., English and Creative Writing